Onward… to glory!

The old blogging has taken a bit of a hit of late and this one isn’t going to be very long or profound. Currently busy doing (among other things [so many things] ) a read through of the first draft of Book Three.

You might be wondering why I would need to read through my own book. Well book one took me at least three years to get to this stage, while the second one, about two years. That was just the first draft stage1). The reason it took so long was I had a bit of tendency to start tinkering with early chapters, trying to make them ‘perfect’.

This time round I decided to try something different. Basically the don’t look back approach. I have deliberately forced myself not to look back at the chapters already done2), instead I have concentrated on just moving forward. So after just over a year, I’m done; it also means that I haven’t seriously looked at the early chapters in ten plus months. Thus making the read through a bit of a journey into semi familiar ground.

Definitely some weak areas but then that’s first drafts for you. Anyway, onwards and upwards!

1) The first draft of Book One came out at about 65K words – the second about double that. One of my characters was left floating out in space (literally as well as metaphorically) covering what he was getting up to is where most of that word gain came from.

2) Apart from occasionally looking up minor character names.

2 Comments

Filed under Book Three of the Nameless War, Self Publishing, Writing

2 responses to “Onward… to glory!

  1. akash

    Well get on with it then, the war awaits and we cant be stuck for too long…!! Chaaaaaarge!!! 😀

    A loyal reader waiting breathlessly for the time his grubby paws get the book

  2. Stealthy dude

    I gotta say I am really looking forward to reading the 3rd book. The world you have created is great. Your story is one of my all time favs. I very much enjoy your writing.

Leave a Reply

